Aurora news releases

rss Aurora RSS news release feed

Search news releases:

Back to news releases

Aurora Health Care announces leadership changes

Monday, January 09, 2006

Aurora Health Care today announced several management changes that strengthen the role of the organization's senior clinical leaders.

Nick Turkal, M.D., has been appointed president of the Metro Region. Dr. Turkal will continue as a senior vice president, responsible for care management and clinical initiatives and programs for the organization. A practicing family physician, he has been with Aurora since 1987.

Susan Ela, R.N., a senior vice president, is now responsible for Aurora's Kettle Moraine Region. Ela joined Aurora in 1995 as president of the Aurora Visiting Nurse Association. She will continue to be responsible for Aurora Family Service, the Aurora Visiting Nurse Association, the organization's South Region, and care management/clinical programs in partnership with Dr. Turkal, as well as nursing and clinical program development for Aurora.

"In making these changes, we are appointing two proven leaders with strong clinical and administrative experience to lead two important regions," said Ed Howe, president of Aurora Health Care.

Howe also announced that Jeff Bailet, M.D., recently named president of Aurora Medical Group, and Susan Buettner, senior vice president of administrative services, have been appointed to Aurora's Management Committee, expanding the committee that oversees the general management of the organization.

Mark Ambrosius, who served as Metro Region president, will leave Aurora on April 5, serving until then as president of Aurora St. Luke's Medical Center. P. Gregory Banks has resigned his position as president of the Kettle Moraine Region and will leave Aurora Health Care.

Aurora Health Care is a not-for-profit Wisconsin health care provider and a nationally recognized leader in efforts to improve the quality of health care. Aurora offers services at sites in more than 90 communities throughout eastern Wisconsin, operating in five regions: North, Central, Metro, Kettle Moraine and South. The Metro Region consists of Milwaukee and Ozaukee counties. The Kettle Moraine Region consists of Waukesha, Washington, Dodge and Jefferson counties.


Contact: Jeff Squire (414-647-3408)

View news release archive